Bangkok, Thailand

So glad I arrived in Bangkok a day early. I stayed with my friend and wonderful host Greg from Washington DC.  Greg had just moved to Bangkok in March to work as a diplomat for USAID.  His baller three-bedroom pad at the Mayfair Garden in Sukhumvit with a great view of Bangkok definitely made up for my bug-infested hotel.

What a city! Having worked in Emerging Markets for 5 years, I am always so fascinated and surprised by what I see first hand on the ground in these markets.

Things seemed so advanced and developed to me than what I had imagined.  The efficiency of the transportation system from the skytrain, to the speedy canal boat (I actually missed getting on one as it docked and left in the blink of an eye), to the taxis, tuk tuk and motorcycle taxis surprised me.

Many parts of the city where implacably clean and shops and malls were packed with shoppers.

I could have been in another city in the US minus the people screaming at me saying Hey Lady you want tuk tuk??

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

